JC Dawes Award

The JC Dawes Bursary offers £2000 to finance travel and subsistence on a research or study programme into wastes management or related subjects.

The award is open to Chartered Waste Managers (MCIWM and FCIWM) for a study programme in a country other than that in which they normally reside. Previous winners have carried out a studies in India, USA, Sri Lanka, Canada, the Netherlands, South Africa, New Zealand and Japan.

The award is not currently open to application submissions.


2016 winner Ian Williams with
CIWM Deputy Chief Executive
Chris Murphy

Hall of Fame

Ian Williams
Waste Management Technologies in Switzerland

Michael Hibbert
Production & Manufacturing of Foam Glass 

David Roman, ‘Learning from international examples of partnerships that prioritise reuse, especially of bulky items’

Victoria Hutchin
Comparing street cleanliness standards and practices in London and Calgary

Chris Davey
A study to identify the major European wine producing regions where the constraints of Application Rules prevent lightweighting of the bottles, the increased use of recyclate and export of wine for bottling in country of sale

Full List of Previous Winners