Awards Categories

These long-standing and well-respected awards are given for outstanding achievement in academic and operational disciplines including best written technical paper and exceptional operational teams at a waste management facility.

Judged by the most respected experts in the sector, these premier awards represent the highest level of achievement and winners set the standards for others to follow.

Entering a CIWM award provides the perfect opportunity to showcase your achievements from the past 12 months and stand out and be recognised.


Choose an award category for more information

James Jackson Award

This award is presented annually for the best paper on the topic of waste or resources management.

Waste and Resources Leader of the Year

This award recognises a person's contribution to the resource and waste sector in 2016

PEEL People’s Cup

The Peel People’s Cup is awarded annually to the best operating team of a permitted waste facility.

Best Research Paper

This award for Best Research Paper is designed to recognise the research being carried out by members of CIWM.

Waste Regulation Award

The award is presented annually for the best formal written paper on the topic of the regulation of waste.